News & Culture in Carroll Gardens, Cobble Hill, Boerum Hill and Points Nearby
September 28, 2016
Overcast
High 72° / Low 62°
Overcast
Join Email Newsletter
join our mailing list
* indicates required
Delivered to your Inbox every Thursday
   |    Follow Us:
Be a Fan on FacebookFollow Us on TwitterSubscribe on YouTubeRSS Feed

Events

Bayfest: Waterfront Celebration

By Alexandra Glorioso

Brooklyn Waterfront
Photo by Donal Peterson: stylepeterson.com

Sun., May 15, 12 p.m. to 6 p.m.: BayFest is Brooklyn’s largest waterfront event and NYC’s only vendor-free street fair.  Now in they’re 20th year and always completely free, BayFest is an all-day, nonstop celebration of Sheepshead Bay, a unique maritime community minutes from the Atlantic Ocean.  Held along ten piers on Emmons Avenue from Ocean Avenue to East 27th Street, BayFest offers a festival of continuous music and fun that brings the community together and raises NewYorkers’ awareness of this treasure by the bay.

Mon., May 9, 8 p.m.: “The Mistake of ’98.” Hear renowned Brooklyn Borough Historian Ron Schweiger of PBS fame talk about the consolidation of the five boroughs into today’s New York City. The merger happened on Jan. 1, 1898.  It’s an event referred to by those in the know as “The Mistake of ’98.” Sunrise Assisted Living, 2211 Emmons Avenue, Sheepshead Bay.  (B44 bus south to the last stop and you’re there.)

This may just be the best BayFest yet!”— NY POST

Click here to previewBayFest bands

BayFest Will Include

Live music

Dance performances

Art exhibitions

Amusements

Huge Bounce Inflatable

New York Aquarium

Basketball toss

Roaming cartoon characters

Face painting

Arts ‘n’ crafts

FDNY displays on land & sea

Sailing demos

50/ 50 Raffle

Modells coupon giveaway

MAIN STAGE

With the WCBS-FM Street Team covering the event, BayFest will feature Beatles tribute band Ticket2Ride, rock ‘n’ roll firefighting bagpipers The Shots, Sheepshead bay son Robert Santa, traditional American folk musicians Stout.

Ticket2Ride

The Shots

Robert Santana

Stout

Pier Performer Websites

Brighton Ballet Theater Companywww.brightonballet.org

Natalie Gelman www.nataliegelman.com

Elisa Peimer www.elisapeimer.com

Joe Taylor www.joetaylorofficial.com

SpinBox with Paul Cabri www.paulcabri.com

Theo Eastwind www.theoeastwind.com

Sons of Jove www.sonsofjove.com

Espiritu Andino: Music of the Andeswww.espirituandino.com

Carly DeLight www.carlydelight.com

Jessie Kilguss & her bandwww.jessiekilguss.com

Mostly Coats mostlycoats.bandcamp.com

Diane Baumannwww.kidzentertainmentinc.com

The Xylopholks www.xylopholks.com

Annika Vitolo www.annikavitolo.com

Dori & The Dorettes

Reni Mimura www.renireni.com

Art-Start Performers, including Spirit Child www.art-start.org/

Getting to BayFest

Download map at bottom of screen. BUS:B44 bus south to the second to last stop. Walk south one block and make a right onto Emmons.  SUBWAY: Q train toward Stillwell Avenue. Exit at Sheepshead Bay station. Walk to Emmons Avenue and East 27th Street (15 min).CAR: Belt Parkway to Exit 9B/Knapp Street. Drive south to the end of Knapp Street. Make a right on Emmons Avenue to East 27th St.

Where to Stay while at BayFest

Comfort Inn (BayFest Sponsor!)

3218 Emmons Avenue

Sheepshead Bay, Brooklyn

718-368-3334

About Sheepshead Bay

A premier waterfront community less than an hour from New York City, Sheepshead Bay boasts a wealth of recreational, business, and residential experiences. Choose from sailing lessons to boating, scuba diving, swimming, windsurfing, kayaking, and fishing. Party and fishing boats sail from they’re piers everyday. (In fact, a “sheepshead” is actually a fish!) Local restaurants –Il Fornetto, Baku Palace, Liman’s Seafood Grill, Randazzo’s Clam Bar, Jimmy’s Heroes, and many others–serve fresh local catch. Other attractions include shopping and sunset cruises, as well as a charming view of the harbor from they’re historic wooden footbridge (circa 1880). Be sure to explore Sheepshead Bay while you’re at Bayfest!

Attachments (2)

BayFest2011_Sponsor Package_revised.pdf – on Apr 6, 2011 11:29 AM by BAYFEST Brooklyn’s Largest Waterfront Celebration (version 1)
314k View Download

BayFest_BigMap.pdf – on May 5, 2011 10:30 AM by BAYFEST Brooklyn’s Largest Waterfront Celebration (version 1)
441k View Download

BayFest

Emmons Avenue & Ocean Avenue (Pier 10) to East 27th Street (Main Stage/Pier 1/Info Table)

Sheepshead Bay, Brooklyn, NY

BIGBayFest@gmail.com

 

Post Your Comment